Strom Trooper banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
**I already posted it here - but do not know how to close it and this seems like a more appropriate place** My Sincere apologies for duplication.

Hi,

A newbie here and request you to help me out with this issue I am having with my 2019 V-Strom 650XT.

Issue - error code C 12 (Doctor VStrom's you tube video used to identify the error code - his video also shows the explanation of the error as - The signal doesn't reach ECM for 2 seconds, or more, after receiving the starter signal)

Symptom -
1 - F1 and Odometer reading alternately show up.
2 - Malfunction indicator light comes on and remains lit.
3 - Engine comes on and runs on idle and the bike rides too.
4 - The issue started last week immediately after a friend of mine' father decided to water the bike while watering his plants - cause he thought it was a bit DUSTY. When I came out of his house and tried to start the bike - the F1 error was there. Though I am not sure if that was what caused it.

I recently went on a 1800 odd KM ride around a couple months back - to some remote parts of Himalayas where fuel is not the best quality, however I have been riding it since for around a month, as the service wasn't yet due - if this information matters - in case of a fuel injection related issue???

I have scheduled a check-up with the dealership workshop here, but they have the tendency to come up with ridiculous theories and eventually charging a bomb. Could you please educate me on what this means and what could the potential fixes be, so they can't take me for a ride, or even if there is a simple enough fix that can be performed by someone who is as raw as raw can be with this bike's mechanics.

**Can I ride it for about 50 Kms to the dealership or should I get it towed?

Also found this one on one of the C12 troubleshooting posts - posted by Hatchi -