StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello folks!
Let me start off by saying that I did my best to search the forum for any topics related to this but I came up empty. So I apologize if this is a repetitious post. Maybe you can point to the right place if you know of one?

Okay..so I'm new to the bike world. Have never ridden a bike or bought one ever so I was looking for some advice before I put money down on. Since I wanted something adventure styled I set my eyes on the new 2014 V Strom 650 ABS model. The MSRP is roughly $8500 everywhere I checked. My question to V Strom owners is this: Is around $8500 what you guys paid as well? Like cars, do the V Strom dealers usually have room to bargain the prices? Or what is advertised is pretty much what you'll get? How do I go about getting a better deal for a new bike? Any tools I can use that you guys would recommend? Any info and help would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you in advance!
I forgot to add... I live in the Southern California region.

·
Registered
3,270 Posts
buy a used one... use the money you save to take an MSF course and buy all of the proper gear... seriously for a first bike... don't go new. It's your first bike, not your last :)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the insight! I actually passed the MSF and am just waiting on the DMV to send me the new license. I did think about buying a used v-strom but 2 things I'm noticing
1) There not a lot of v-stroms on sale. Some of the ones that are have quite a bit of miles on them
2) I have literally ZERO knowledge of judging a used bike. I'm afraid of forking over cold hard cash and then regretting some unforeseen piece of equipment breaking down because I didn't check it out properly.
So here we are.....

·
Registered
561 Posts