StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to have some protection there, and i had a load of fiberglass so i thought it might make a good project. But unfortunately i have 2 left hands, so im not that good with this stuff. I made a template out of cardboard put it on and now im in the fiberglass phase. Hopefully this will be good enough for the type of riding i do. I never even felt in my type of riding i needed much, but something there to protect the oil filter and oil cooler might be nice.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I'd make a couple more cuts in your GFRP so it doesn't "bubble" up like that. Allow the cut pieces to cross each other and lay flat.

Cool idea!

If you had the tools and wanted to go nuts, making this out of carbon fiber isn't much different.
  • Use cloth as a template so you know how to cut out your fiber (so less waste). Also don't cut until after you've wetted it.
  • Place the fiber onto a plastic sheet, apply resin liberally, then place another plastic sheet on top and "push" the resin through to wet the entire fabric
  • Cut your shapes while plastic is in place. Then peel one side, place it on your mold, and peel the other side. No hanging wet fiber!
  • Apply to mold with the same (basic) process. Maybe using some wood filler on the cardboard to smooth out sharp edges/holes would be even better
  • Make a poor-man's honeycomb and leave the cardboard in-place, wrapping the other side with fiber too. Way structurally stronger.
  • If you can, wrap the whole thing in a bag, vacuum seal it, and pull the excess resin out via vacuum pump. This reduces weight and makes the final product less brittle.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
hey thats for the advice. I think if this little concept works i might do something in carbon fiber. It would be neat to have, makes sense as a bash plate instead of steel. You sound like you know your way around Resin, are you a professional?

·
Registered