StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Esteemed Colleauges,

I decided to replace my '02 Vee's sprockets and chain. SAfter careful examination of all relevant posts, I assembled what I believed I needed and began the job. Well, what I believe might be an expensive mechanical failure struck amost immediately. The upper left allen bolt (the one with the spacer) on the clutch actuator cylinder snapped off about 1/2" from the inside case surface adjacent to the drive sprocket shaft--why, I have no idea. Maybe a botch on the part of the previous owner? Irrelevant, I imagine... I got the chain/sprocket job done, but left the drive sprocket unmounted. As those of you who work on your own bike are aware, there is very little room with which to work down in there, and I have zero experience with snapped bolts. My great fear is that a big-time disassembly is in the offing, with many hundreds of dollars at stake.

My skills consist of normal maintainence and this will likely require trailering to a dealer. My question to all of you is this: What's the best guess on what the fix going to consist of??

Thanks,

Randy in Dublin, CA

Attachments

·
Registered
15,409 Posts
Looks like you have enough material sticking out you could try double nutting it and the lefty loosey. Or grab it with a vicious vice grips. A little propane heat on the case outside would let it expand a bit before you try to loosen it.

·
Registered
6,663 Posts
I agree with above

You are right next to a rubber seal so be very careful with the heat or be prepared to replace the seal as well (not the worst thing)

It looks clean but sometime heat some spray nut loosener and repeat like 3 times. Also a few firm taps with a hammer to separate the threads loose

Because its broken you have relieved ALL the tension on the bolt all ready.

You were due for a new bike anyway

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hey notacop and richw