StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
348 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's the best way to practice using your Strom's ABS brakes?

When people are taught to drive cars with ABS for the first time, instructors make sure they understand that they can and should stomp on the brake pedal in an emergency. You don't need to pump them like in the old days.

I've been riding for 4 decades and got really good at modulating my brakes in a panic stop. I did regular braking practice, usually locking up one wheel at a time to get used to the feel of it and know when to release pressure and for how long. It must have helped. I never went down as a result of braking.

Now I have ABS and want to learn how to get the most out of this new kind of braking.

Is there a particular braking exercise that professional instructors recommend? Or something that works for you?

Take Care,

Mike Brown
Vancouver, WA

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
Likely to generate a lot of input! (not a bad thing - gots to love technique topics)

Short layman's version the way I've always understood it: Brake just as you normally do up to the point of lockup, but when lockup occurs or you sense that it is about to occur, you let ABS do the job to modulate the brakes and do not pump. And then....

What you do immediately after that point is likely to vary from condition to condition and your judgment of the specific scenario; but I gradually back off the brakes to find the sweet spot which provides max braking while almost but not quite, just barely engaging ABS. The theory being that a fully braking and stable, but not pulsating, tread has better energy absorption than one that is constantly or frequently in transition. Which goes to why some riders feel they can outperform ABS themselves. 'Nother topic though.

My two centavos only and I certainly don't mind being corrected or educated.

·
Premium Member
3,399 Posts