StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Recovering from surgery and will be off the bike for about 3 months. Is a battery tender necessary? Or is starting it up once a week-ish for a few minutes good enough? Bike is a 2018.

·
Premium Member
1,579 Posts
Recovering from surgery and will be off the bike for about 3 months. Is a battery tender necessary? Or is starting it up once a week-ish for a few minutes good enough? Bike is a 2018.
Should be fine to just let it sit, but if you want to do something either disconnect the battery or use a battery tender. Starting it up cold for a few minutes isn't good for the engine and won't do much for your battery.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I have been riding for 25 years and owned just 4 motorcycles (one from each of the big 4 Japanese), and as well currently own an 11 year old roadster that only sees sporadic summer use. None of the vehicles were purchased new or were newer than 5-10 years old, so I can’t really say what the battery provenance was for each vehicle, although I do know the battery in my roadster is original, so 11 years old.

What I can say is that I put each of these vehicles on a tender whenever they are parked in my garage. I have only ever ONCE replaced a battery, and that battery was in my first used bike, after which time I bought my first tender.

In my experience batteries can last almost indefinitely if kept from sulphating. So unless your bike is a year-round daily driver, spend the $40 on a Battery Tender Jr. and it’ll pay for itself in year or two.

·
Registered
787 Posts
batteries worst enemies are heat and being stored in a discharged state. In the heat of Phx it is cause to celebrate if you get more than 3 years out of a lead acid battery.