StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,198 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The Brits have an expression for the most common form of multi-vehicle accident: "Sorry Mate, I didn't See You" or SMIDSY.

The Hurt Report detailed how left-turning cars that did not see an approaching motorcyclist account for more than half of multi-vehicle crashes involving motorcycles when other factors (alcohol, etc) are removed.

If you are impatient but want a technique to help reduce the likelihood of this happening to you, go to the 5:00 mark of the video.

I've been doing the same thing since 1985, when I lived in a small town with a lot of side streets. Tried everything: different colored helmets and jackets, waving, flashing headlights - without much effect. Tried the weave, it worked, and been doing it since. The video explains why: it minimizes the physiological effect of "Looming."

·
Registered
4,291 Posts
I've been doing that for almost the full 40 years I've been riding [an old rider taught it to me].

I also use a range of other tactics that keep me in the visible points of car drivers.

I move around behind the car from one external mirror to the other, never directly behind the car.

Moving around when there is oncoming traffic also makes a bike more visible to cars that may be about to overtake the one you can see coming towards you.

We are entitled to use the lane we are travelling in and I use ALL of it to keep myself as safe as possible.

·
Registered
569 Posts