StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was riding on a two lane road in the center of a small town, going about 35mph. There was a line of traffic come toward me. One of the cars decided to take a left turn into a driveway right in front of me. I was shocked for a second (I couldn't believe he was going to do it). I leaned on the horn and slammed on both brakes. Based on past experience (and I have 44 years of riding experience), I anticipated seizing both wheels, smashing down to the left, and careening into his front bumper. Instead, I stopped like I never stopped before - perfectly upright, no skids, and no loss of control. I stopped about two feet before the side of his car, which was still executing a left turn. The bozo never noticed me. He looked pretty old; I suspect he was half blind. The moral of this story: ABS may have saved my life yesterday. How did I ever do without it?

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,103 Posts
That's the beauty of it. If you hadn't practiced enough to make an emergency stop a reflex action, ABS will keep you from dropping the bike. I'd recommend forgetting about the horn in a situation like that though and put all your focus on braking. Horns are fine if you have time. In a bona fide emergency, stick to crash avoidance maneuvers rather than hoping somebody else will suddenly pay attention and do exactly the right thing in their own emergency situation.

·
Registered
61 Posts
I still get into arguments pretty regularly about the importance of ABS. People believe it is a crutch that will make you a weaker rider, another complicated piece of technology just to fail, and that with ABS you'll never be able to stop as fast as without it.

I don't think they understand that ABS is a backup. It's only going to come on when you need it, it's a very mature technology, and if you never lock up your wheels, it will have zero affect on your braking performance.