StromTrooper banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I've been reading through the posts and I'm curious about opinions on getting the 650.

I'm 6 ft 250# and I have limited riding experience... I rode an old Honda 550 super sport about 8 years ago, but only for a summer.

I'm definitely taking the MSF course.

If I can get away with just getting a new wee as first bike I'd prefer to just do that. I'm not too excited about buying an old cheap bike since I'd prefer to have one I know I can trust. I will be a conservative rider and ramp back up slowly.

Other bikes I am considering are the Honda NC700x or CB500x. NC has no abs with automatic. Worried I'll grow out of the 500.

Overall I like the wee as a tough bike that looks like it can do it all.

I've seen divided opinion... The "go for it" versus " no, it's too top heavy". So I'm especially interested in opinions on details of whether the bike is top heavy and what a beginner can do to best adapt.

Thanks! Great forum!
Rob

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
Because the strom is tall, it feels top heavy. That's physics. Here's how to handle it---as you're coming to a stop focus your concentration on getting both feet on the ground as you stop. Do not spend that instant before stopping looking at traffic or deciding which way you'll turn next or the gal (or guy) in tight pants. After you have both feet down and the bike feels stable under you, then plan your next move. With experience most of us can bring the bike to a momentary stop then roll away without putting a foot down, but we didn't start that way. And most of us had our bikes take a nap when we started riding a strom and didn't concentrate on getting both feet down when stopping.