StromTrooper banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m getting ready to pick up a Gel Seat for my 1K. My question is about the tall touring seat. Does it have the gel inserts or is it just a taller seat? I’m 6’6’ and like the looks of the tall seat but have read all the positives about the gel. I don’t like the large ridge between the rider and passenger part and it looks like the tall seat may have less of a ridge there. Not to much difference in the price from Oneida , $30.
So am I right in assuming that the tall seat does not have gel?
I have put 30,000 on the stock seat and now the seam has separated on the ridge on top.
Thanks

·
Registered
703 Posts
You are correct. There is no gel in the Tall seat. As to the Gel seat, I have been riding mine for about 18 months now. It is a BIG improvement over the stock seat. The seat is wider, taller, and more firm. On the stock seat, I would get horrible pains in my hips after just a couple of hours. No more with the Gel. It's shape, and the density of the foam, as well as the comfort of the gel insert make a huge difference.

·
Premium Member
413 Posts
One thing to be aware of with any gel seat is to be mindful of not parking in direct sunlight. Gel gets very hot and holds the heat well. The gel seat was a huge improvement over stock but I did have to park to side of the building at work that had trees blocking the sun or my ride home was very warm and uncomfortable.

·
Registered
1,834 Posts
I have a tall touring seat in great shape for sale if you're interested. I have an ad in the For Sale section.

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
+1 on the gel. I couldn't walk after 45 mins on the stock. I could run the tank dry now before I "have" to stop.

·
Registered
172 Posts