StromTrooper banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am new to stromtrooper and pretty new to my Wee. I have searched the forums for this issue, but if it is already here, please send me in the direction of that thread.

I live in OR, but I have a California DL650 with the evaporative canister in it. When I top off, or if the pump doesn't click off early enough even I can have problems running the wee afterwards... generally idling rough, surging through 6-8k rpm, hesitating and dying if I don't give it enough gas when I get in gear. This lasts roughly the first 20 miles or so then it evens out to performing great like normal.

I've heard that this is flooding caused by the canister and bypassing it is relatively simple? Does this sound right to anyone?

Otherwise, I think my bike and I are in a general love-love relationship :mrgreen:

· FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,702 Posts
I doubt the canister is the problem unless you are carefully filling the tank in slow spurts after the fuel reaches the bottom of the filler tube. You would have to get the gas to reach the vent opening at the extreme top. You can get the fuel to the top of the opening then watch it recede as the air leaves through the vent to allow room for the fuel to rise around the neck.

You can put a new longer tube from the tank vent connection down along with the cap area overflow tube to the bottom of the bike to check if it makes a difference. Be sure to plug the tube from the canister to the throttle bodies to prevent a vacuum leak if you try it. If it makes no difference, please re-connect the canister to avoid dumping fuel fumes into the atmosphere unnecessarily. If it does make a difference, try looking inside the tank to see if the metal vent tube is split or otherwise damaged.