StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3,589 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Live GPS tracking on phone

I'm a bit behind phone tech apparently but just found out you can use your phone (if it has a data plan) as a GPS tracker.

There are several versions of apps but I went with LocaToWeb. The app itself was $1.99

You start the app on your phone and it sends the GPS location. The track shows on a map and when active will show the direction of travel. (Click on the tracks button on the home page to see the public tracks).

The phone will cache tracks when there isn't cell reception and then send when connected. The tracks themselves don't use much data.

Tracks will show as public unless you create an account (free) and select your track to be private.
It works, it's cool. :grin2:

·
Super Moderator
16,866 Posts
You don't even need a data plan for a phone to work as a stand alone GPS. ;)

·
Registered
894 Posts
On my iPhone I use Galileo maps (free version). I purchased California Trail Maps for off-road use. Load the trail maps or another map into the Galileo app and you can do the same. No data plan needed.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
3,589 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
You don't even need a data plan for a phone to work as a stand alone GPS. ;)

Yea I know I've got an old phone that I use for GPS.

This app sends tracks real time like a Spot or InReach so people can see your trip on a HTML map.

·
Registered
4,818 Posts
That's cool...kind of like a poor man's Spot. The downside is the data connection part; I've been in a lot of places out west where that wouldn't work. Still, for $1.99, it would be good peace of mind for the family when you're out touring alone.

·
Registered
3,589 Posts
Discussion Starter #6