StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I read your posts and decided to write you a PM to see if you could point me in the right direction to fix my problem.

I have a DL1000 2007, just purchased and drove it 600 miles with no problems, but yesterday is I was going to start it in the morning it blowed the 30a fuse and lost all the power.

I replaced the 30a fuse with the spare one (start switch off) but the moment I reconnect the black cable that goes through the clear cover box I heard a click and saw that the fuse was blown off again.

For what I've read in this forum it seems to be a direct short to ground, but if that's the case how can I troubleshoot it?

It's kind of strange because I didn't moved the bike since the day before and it was working great.

I'm new to this bike and also not a very experienced rider so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advanced,

Luis Gonzalez

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,104 Posts
Unless a wire was pinched, the most likely problem is a shorted regulator/rectifier. See if disconnecting it keeps the fuse from blowing. If so, Id replace it with a MOSFET type. Shindengen MOSFET FH012AA regulator/rectifier includes a post from Leroy on making a bracket for it though some 1000 owners just discard the stock bracket and mount it directly on the frame. The left side cover comes off by removing the four bolts from the luggage rack, a bolt in the front and any plastic rivets on the bottom. Plastic fairing rivets (Push pins - pop rivets). How do they work? shows how to handle the plastic rivets.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks very much for your response, I will be posting my messages in the corresponding forum so everyone else can also read them.