StromTrooper banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Unfortunately, I have to store my Wee for 2 years!!! :furious:

It's a financial / personal deal. I am a broke student, but take online classes, so don't need to drive too much. I also have an almost 4 month old son, the best little dude in the world! He's also the reason I haven't been on the forum AT ALL the last few months, hehe...

Anyways, back to topic:
I searched/read around here for storage related stuff, and I came up with this list of shtuff to do:

- fill gas tank, leave room for expansion/contraction
- Stabil (gas treatment, not sure of spelling) and run engine a minute to circulate.
- wrap tires (being stored in garage in Phoenix, Arizona)
- lift (don't have center stand, but will use my home-made stand thingy)
- Remove battery (I'll just buy a new one in two years)
- change oil
- treat seat / plastic cosmetics and whatnot with something (i've got some polish)
- clean / lube chain generously

I know I need to do something with the spark plugs/cylinders, but not sure exactly what to do, as I read different things about fogging?? and/or coating with oil?? But I don't understand what that means... Help here?:confused:

Any other suggestions/improvements/additions to my list would be wonderfully appreciated, as usual! I must say though, please give me some sort of explanation for any info you provide. While I do understand a lot of this stuff, I've never stored a vehicle for more than 2-3 months, so I'm new to this aspect of moto-care.

Thanks all,
Jam

·
Registered
722 Posts
If critters are even a remote possibility, block off the tailpipe and intake. Also spread some sort of deterrent (maybe mothballs) under the seat and/or cover and stuff.

I did not do much of this when I put my last motorcycle away for 3 months, turned 2+ years and I regretted it.

·
Administrator
18,442 Posts