StromTrooper banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mileage 1500, never heard the chain noise with helmet on.
The other day rode without the helmet around the house, heard a chain noise. Best way to describe is like on a bicycle when going downhill and it makes whirring noise from wheel. Not too loud but noticeable. Like bearing spinning, like fidgit spinner.
I clean chain every 200-300 miles, Haven't cleaned the front sprocket area, could that be the cause of sound?
The chain slack looks within margin. Ordered good reviewed chain lube from amazon, will try that next.
Any similar experiences?

·
Registered
441 Posts
I would not clean that often. Lube every other tank sure. Clean with kerosene? Never. My opinion only. I am not a mechanical engineer or drive chain expert in any way. They do get noisy if dry. Looser end of spec might be OK. kfh000

·
Registered
47 Posts
My chain is a bit noisy too, but most chain driven bikes are. You'll really notice the noise when you're driving by a long, raised, cement highway divider on the left side. My bike has an automatic chain lubricator and in 14,000 miles I've only had to adjust the chain once.

·
Registered
693 Posts
I notice more noise from the gears in the transmission than the chain. As per the last post
I've only had to adjust my chain one time since new (3400 miles) I use a chain wax product
which seems to be thick enough to make the chain run quieter in my opinion.
You may want to make sure the rear axle and wheel is adjusted true and straight.
Proper axle torque as well. Did you have the 600 miles service done at the dealer ?
This usually includes checking hardware for proper torque.

·
Registered
150 Posts