StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greeting everyone,

Newbie here, just trying to get a bit of info. I know on the previous years models one comment was it was top heavy for a beginner. Has anyone spent enough time with one to comment on if the 2012 is improved in that aspect?

Thanks all,
Val

·
Registered
180 Posts
I have only test-ridden the new bike (waiting on an Adventure model to buy), but my experience is that yes it feels noticeably less top-heavy. I would recommend the new variant over the old to a beginner, and also think that the new model will appeal to a wider audience. The new model feels like a different motorcycle.

·
Premium Member
3,132 Posts
I don't consider the Strom to be top heavy. But, for a beginner, it's imposing size and stature could naturally be a bit intimidating at first - the Strom is not a dainty bike. That said, I can putter around in any parking lot, doing Shriner-style, steer from the hips, figure-eights at stall speed all day long on my Strom without even thinking it's topheavy - it ain't a big fat cruiser bruiser by any stretch. However, it is a big bike and can get away from you - especially if you are daydreaming in a driveway [don't ask!]. The new model is pretty much the same bike under the fancy new plastic and updates - only about 10-15 lbs lighter.

But, after sitting on a new 2012, I perceived it to be somehow "smaller" than my original flavor model. But, that doesn't mean it will somehow magically transform itself into a tiny 250cc trailbike!

·
Premium Member
8,025 Posts
I haven't ridden the 2012, but sat on one at the dealer. My feet are more firmly planted on the ground with the new version and it felt lighter, but this opinion should take into consideration that my earlier bike is lowered by 1/2 inch and always has a full set of luggage on it as well as a Russell seat.

The new bike I sat on is mine once Suzuki and the dealer release it.

·
Living the Stereotype