StromTrooper banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got stuck in a parking lot recently with a non-starter.

I just picked up a 2012 V-Strom 650 used, about 3,000 miles. Ran great, no issues and then I went to start it in a parking lot one day and it decided not to go. I'm a bit new to it all so I'll lay it all out as much as I know.

-I left the keys in it, it probably sat about 45 minutes with the key in the on position
-When trying to start it, messing with the turn signal buttons and ignition switch would cause the displays to fritz out (come on and off, hop around)

I got it towed, about a week later (today) I messed with it again and:

-The noise that usually starts when I disengage the killswitch with the kickstand up is weak/much quieter (fuel pump?)
-The ignition switch currently crackles if I use it
-Still does not start, at first the displays came up properly but eventually acted up again
-FI light is on

Did I kill my battery, or are other forces at work here? I haven't modified anything on it since I picked it up at the dealership.

Pull no punches, I'm new but if I'm an idiot I'm okay with knowing it, thanks!

·
Registered
1,404 Posts
You bought a used 2012 vstrom 650 at a dealer and now it won't start, I'd take it back to that dealer ASAP.
No screwing around.
If they are a good dealership, they will help you out.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You bought a used 2012 vstrom 650 at a dealer and now it won't start, I'd take it back to that dealer ASAP.
No screwing around.
If they are a good dealership, they will help you out.
Makes sense. Starting to feel glad I got the warranty, although it's going to suck being off of the thing for this long.

I appreciate the answer, Happy New Year!

·
Registered
1,990 Posts