StromTrooper banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I recently purchased my first V-Strom (06 DL1000) and I have to say it's the most fun I've had on a motorcycle. I'm looking for advice on brand recommendations for the best chain and sprockets for my 06 DL1000. Is the O-ring chain the way to go? I also wanted to confirm the chain size as 525. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
257 Posts
As a general rule, o-ring and x-ring chains last quite a bit longer than conventional chains. If you are religious about cleaning and lubing your non-sealed chain it would be a much closer race. Automatic oiler would also help a non-sealed chain quite a bit. A bit messy, but very effective.

I believe the stock setup is 525 chain and 112 links. Some people upgrade to 530 chain and claim longer lifespan. I have no experience or opinion on such an upgrade.

And welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
124 Posts
The false economy comes from using cheap basic chain without the o-rings. You'd have to adjust them frequently and they will wear out fast. For the better chains, you'll adjust them once at the first hundred miles then check them at every cleaning/re-oiling.
May not be the best, the most bang for the buck would be the JT brand of x-ring chains and sprockets. The whole shebang with chain, sprocket set and all is maybe $150. Available as a 525 kit or 530, and in different gearing (number of teeth) configurations should you wish to wander from stock.
(More teeth on the front cog, fewer RPM at given speed, more teeth on the rear cog = more RPM, good for off-road.

·
Registered
246 Posts
As a general rule, o-ring and x-ring chains last quite a bit longer than conventional chains. If you are religious about cleaning and lubing your non-sealed chain it would be a much closer race. Automatic oiler would also help a non-sealed chain quite a bit. A bit messy, but very effective.