StromTrooper banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the VStrom world only buying this one few months back.. I like it enough, but have had the clutch basket issue but have had it in the shop and is improved but I find this bike somewhat unstable at about 70 mph and up.. The wind from following in tractor trailers is not much fun and cross winds worse.. The winds seem to destabilize the bike is not confidence inspiring.. I am more used to sport bikes styles having a Ninja 750 prior and Suzuki GS750ES.. I like the riding position on this VStrom but handling a higher speeds seems sketchy..I do ride with and without full Givi bags, but think it is the tall nature of this bike but would hope that the bike should still be manageable at those speeds at those speeds.. Thoughts

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,103 Posts
Raising the rear or lowering the front 10-15mm lowers the angle of attack into the air stream and helps front end aerodynamic lift. A fork brace helps the handlebar to front wheel connection from feeling vague. Staying relaxed and holding the grips lightly will keep wind gusts from introducing unwanted steering inputs. Still, it's a taller bike with a more upright seating position so wind will have more influence than with a sport bike.

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
its a long shot

but check your steering head bearings for slop

·
Registered
1,794 Posts
Going to a stiffer front spring will do wonders for your bike. It is one of the best farkles I have done to mine. It helps but does not completely eliminate the assault from tractor trailers. Like GW said, raise the fork tubes in the clamps about 15mm (which will lower the front end). When approaching a T/T remain confident. Relax your arms but squeeze the tank with our knees until you are out of the turbulence.

·
Registered
168 Posts