StromTrooper banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I need some advice from some experienced adventure riders. While I have been riding for 4 years now, it has all been slab. Not really had much opportunity to get off the road. In fact, just up to a week ago or so I was thinking about getting rid of my knobbies all together and going with some nice Pilot street tires.

Well all that changed just over the past week. I've been in touch with some local adventure riders who can show me some trails to hit. Also, I found an adventure riding rally in September that will have some opportunities to get off road on some starter routes for someone with my low skill level. So now I'm getting really excited about doing some good adventure riding! I'm not going to get the Pilot street tires after all.

So my question is this: Do I need to get my back tire replaced? I will attach some pictures for you all to look at. I am concerned that the middle portion of my tire is wearing pretty low and I won't have good grip on the off road, even if it's just a easy logging road with hard gravel.

I would appreciate any input and advice on what you think I should do. FYI - My current tire set is Shinko Trail Master 705. My front tire is looking great. I don't think it needs to be replaced.

Thanks for your help!

-John
green_v650

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,225 Posts
If your front is decent grab a Heidenau Scout for the back and keep the current tire as a spare.

My 2 cents

·
Premium Member
3,538 Posts
I'd say you have a good thou or two left on that Shinko. How many miles are on it...I'm guessing around 4.5 thou?

·
Official Stromtrooper.com Sponsor
5,424 Posts