2013 Klim PowerXross Glove - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
Product Reviews The place to post your thoughts about V-Strom related products. This section is designed to help make the searching easier, but you will find other reviews in the other sections.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 10-11-2013, 08:32 AM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
 
lordneeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warner Robins, ga
Posts: 407
Thumbs up 2013 Klim PowerXross Glove

Powerxross Glove


So many of you may have read about my 2013 Klim Inversion Glove review I did previously. Well, as stated in that thread, as happy I was with the comfort, styling, and warmth of the Inversion glove, the quality of the Velcro Strapping was lacking. (I had to replace them under warranty twice in one winter). After the 3rd pair went bad, I asked to exchange them for the 2013 Klim PowerXross Gloves. As warm as the Inversion were, they still left my hands pretty cold on days under 40F. But, my goal was to still have a glove that had great dexterity. I HATE those big huge winter gloves. So that's why I went for the PowerXross gloves.

Now, all that said, you need to know that I'm not yet ready to fully review these gloves. I just started wearing them because it just started getting cold again. So, I'm going to review the gloves in installments, kinda like I did the Inversion gloves.

Disclaimer about the Inversion gloves: If Klim fixes the velcro enclosure to be more like the PowerXross enclosure, I WILL be getting another pair. I LOVED those Inversions.

This is the intro, I'm going to follow-up with another post on the Klim experience.

2006 Vstrom 650

1999 Triumph Trophy 1200

2012 Vstrom 650 (current)
lordneeko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-11-2013, 08:42 AM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
 
lordneeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warner Robins, ga
Posts: 407
The Klim Experience

I want to make a comment about my Experience with the Klim customer service, since I had to call them quite often.

First off, the person on the phone (AWESOME NOTE: I was able to get a hold of the same customer service person all 3 times!!!) was always very helpful, and importantly, they spoke my language in an accent I could understand. But, it should be noted that my dealings with them came just after the Polaris acquisition of Klim. So, personnel had not yet changed. So, your experience may differ.

The person was very understanding of my concerns, though after the 3rd time I thought they would be more willing to say, ok, maybe we have a defect in our design, but I never heard anything like that. They continued to insist they've never had these problems, but I had 2 pairs of gloves whose velcro had completely torn off the fabric, and the 3rd had already started fraying. I'm almost certain I was not the problem, but who knows, I'll remain humble and say it could be possible. (P.S. My Klim Dakar gloves I've worn all summer without a single sign of fraying )

However, regardless of their response they were more than willing to trade out the first set (which I had owned for about 11 months) without any further discussion. They were adament that I be happy with my product. A+ There.

After the 3rd set started to fray, I immediately called up Klim and as soon as she opened up my order number she immediately said, "you're having issues with your gloves again?" So, I'd say that's pretty good customer tracking. Anyways, she offered to trade my Inversions for another pair. So, I got online and started researching, and she was very willing to take another $40 off my hands in order to "upgrade" to the PowerXross gloves.


Great Experience. Thanks Klim.

Next Installment. 2013 Klim PowerXross Glove Fitting assessment

2006 Vstrom 650

1999 Triumph Trophy 1200

2012 Vstrom 650 (current)
lordneeko is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-11-2013, 10:50 AM
Stromthusiast!
 
Mr_McBride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Acworth, Ga
Posts: 812
:bom_ears: - subscribed.

Thanks for taking the time to do this. Let me know the next time you visit the northern half of our state. Lunch and a beer will be on me.

-rodney

2012 G-Strom - White
Mr_McBride is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 01:33 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
 
lordneeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warner Robins, ga
Posts: 407
Very brief review.

Style
Gloves look awesome

Fit
The large I returned but I should have kept them, because the mediums have shorty fingers...problems is the soft fabric on the inside is slippery enough that I could pull the large off while cinched as tight as possible. Not sure they'd stay on in a crash...p.s. The powerxross are NOT motorcycle gloves really..so they were never designed for high speed falls.
Note: because I have the mediums that are tight the seam around the thumb is right under the meaty part of my thumb and can be a bit uncomfortable... Not sure I'd have this issue if I had the right size. (My klim Mohave gloves felt the same way at the beginning of summer but feel great now)

Warmth:
These gloves are warm down to about 50 without gloves for about 1 hour. After that or lower than that you better have heat. Note: I have brushguards which block some wind, so take that into consideration (I need better hand guards though)

Cost
A little high for gloves without good protection, but they really are comfortable gloves

Dexterity:
Great dexterity even in cold weather (this was my main reason for buying them)

Conclusion
Great gloves, I will buy again but keep the large next time.

Sorry this review isn't as good as my last one. :-D

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

2006 Vstrom 650

1999 Triumph Trophy 1200

2012 Vstrom 650 (current)
lordneeko is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 01:35 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
 
lordneeko's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Warner Robins, ga
Posts: 407
One addition
The enclosure is good enough where you can close them over or under a jacket liner's cuff. So I like that.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

2006 Vstrom 650

1999 Triumph Trophy 1200

2012 Vstrom 650 (current)
lordneeko is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-16-2013, 07:17 PM
Stromthusiast!
 
Mr_McBride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Acworth, Ga
Posts: 812
Thanks for the review.

I had high hopes for the PowerXross. But I am ATGATT all the way. I want protection. And, if there's one thing I can't stand about gloves it is internal sewed seams. I could care less what the gloves look like....I want the comfort of an external seam.

My Klim Adventure gloves are close as some of the seams are external, but some of them are internal as well.

Thanks again for the review.

-rodney

2012 G-Strom - White
Mr_McBride is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
gear , klim , powerxross , review , winter gloves

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome