Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums

Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums (https://www.stromtrooper.com/forumindex.php)
-   General V-Strom Discussion (https://www.stromtrooper.com/general-v-strom-discussion/)
-   -   Auxiliary Light Mounting - Opinions? (https://www.stromtrooper.com/general-v-strom-discussion/422195-auxiliary-light-mounting-opinions.html)

ScottKY 03-21-2019 09:17 PM

Auxiliary Light Mounting - Opinions?
 
2 Attachment(s)
So I bought some cheap LED aux lights, which I'm going to mount to my Givi crash bars. Looking for opinions...horizontal or vertical. Yeah, I know that either way, they're vulnerable if the bike takes a nap, but I'm not all that concerned about that. They were cheap.

Disregard the wiring mess...I'm in the mock-up stage.

rooster shooter 03-21-2019 09:40 PM

I vote horizontal. I think I have those same clamps. I thought they came as a pair, now waiting on another one.

richlandrick 03-21-2019 09:47 PM

oops. I misread the post. Never mind.

ScottKY 03-21-2019 09:50 PM

In case anyone is interested...

Lights:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Mounts:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Wiring Harness:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
(but this was a mistake. I don't want to drill any holes to mount the switch)

So I subsequently ordered this switch to mount on the handlebars:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I don't have all of this installed yet, but I think it's going to work out ok.

ScottKY 03-21-2019 09:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rooster shooter (Post 5368211)
I vote horizontal. I think I have those same clamps. I thought they came as a pair, now waiting on another one.

Mine did come as a pair.

thirdofthree 03-21-2019 11:01 PM

I vote vertical. Might help to see them turned on, though.

I also have cheap (but different) lights mounted to the outside of my Givi bars. The bike has taken 3 naps so far, and I just re-align the lights and they keep on going.

Have you considered wiring them to come on with the low beams & turn off with the high, or stay on with both low / high beams and off with a switch?

nvr2old 03-21-2019 11:04 PM

I went vertical with mine(Amber though).

Spec 03-22-2019 12:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ScottKY (Post 5368221)
In case anyone is interested...
... I don't have all of this installed yet, but I think it's going to work out ok.


Hmm... This all looks familiar somehow. :grin2:

Yeller Lights

thirdofthree 03-22-2019 12:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spec (Post 5368275)
Hmm... This all looks familiar somehow. :grin2:

Indeed! Those lights are on my short list when my current cheapos eventually die.

JustAnotherDude 03-22-2019 03:36 AM

I vote Vertical as well.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome