StromTrooper banner

Valve Adjustment Help Needed

10K views 22 replies 14 participants last post by  Geo650 
#1 ·
I am having problems with the valve adjustments. I cannot get the chain tensioner to release.

I am following these instructions:
Suzuki V-Strom DL650 Valve Check and Adjustment

I have taken all of the tension out of the tensioner by backing the bolt all of the way. My problem is that i cannot get the little tab to release to release the tension on the cam chain. I have tried pushing on the tab with a screwdriver but nothing budges. From the videos i have watched, this looks like it should be easy. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

#2 ·
I'm not an expert, but I've done this work twice.

On my 2012 Wee, at least, I recall having to completely remove the tensioning bolt and spring from the engine (they come out together - not terribly difficult to get back in place).

Even then I recall having a bit of trouble getting the chain loose enough to remove a cam, but I eventually got it. I did this work about 10 months ago.

Hope this helps, somehow. Good luck.

:smile2:

Reactions: Spec
#3 ·
I got the adjuster to release. It just needed a little persuasion on the handle of the screwdriver to get it to release. I almost resorted to taking out the entire cam chain adjuster out of frustration. There is not a lot of extra room when it is released but there is just enough room to move the cam out of the way to remove the buckets.

#14 ·
Did the tensioner pawl snap back into place on the cam chain tunnel sidewall serrations during reinstallation easily when you retightened the 12mm cam chain tensioner bolt? Or did you have to do something additional to the pawl with your screwdriver for example?

#10 ·
I am having problems with the valve adjustments. I cannot get the chain tensioner to release.

I am following these instructions:
Suzuki V-Strom DL650 Valve Check and Adjustment