Need advice on wiring heated seat - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2017+ DL650A - 2017 (L7) and later

4Likes
  • 3 Post By Grimmer
  • 1 Post By Ratchet

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 08-30-2019, 10:07 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Need advice on wiring heated seat

Hi guys, one thing I am NOT good at is electrical. I installed the Tusk seat heater kit on my new Seat Concepts seat - see my review thread. The main leads are flat loops that would fit perfectly on the battery. There is an on/off switch with two power levels - so if I did hook it up directly to the battery and REMEMBER to turn it off when the bike is off I'm fine. However the instructions say its better to hook it up to power that is activated by the ignition switch for obvious reasons. Does anyone know if there is a circuit that will work only when the bike is running and how much power it can handle?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 08-30-2019, 10:34 PM
$tromtrooper

Garage
There are lots of switched power circuits. One of the most commonly used is the tail marker light (probably because Eastern Beaver sells a ready made harness to tap into it - although I'm not positive he has one for the newest gen DL650 yet). The switched circuits generally don't handle a ton of load and a portion of the load capacity is already dedicated to the bike's original circuit, so the prevailing advice is to use the switched circuit to activate the coil on a relay (low power - basically negligible) so that the relay's main taps (high power) can deliver straight from the battery to your device. Then when you turn off the key, the relay opens and cuts the power to your added gizmo(s).