Aluminum Panniers with Stock exhaust question... - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2017+ DL650A - 2017 (L7) and later

1Likes
  • 1 Post By ERockJL

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 06-02-2019, 01:17 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
Junior Trooper

Aluminum Panniers with Stock exhaust question...

I tried to search around a little for my answer but didn't find something that satisfies me.

Newbie here, first post. I actually made an account here probably around 10 years ago or so when I nearly bought a Wee and was asking questions. Glad to be officially on board now.

Hi, as of yesterday I am the proud new owner of a new 2018 (unsold at dealer from last year) Wee-strom. I got a good price because its last year's model. It comes with the factory plastic side cases which I am fully unimpressed with. They remind me of a cheap plastic tool box you would buy at Wal-mart. An accidental tip over from a stand still would probably destroy them. And they don't even operate very smoothly and easily. And the dealer says Suzuki values them at around $1000, good lord... I'll try to push it out of my brain that I absorbed that part of the cost.

Anyway I have on order a pair of Tusk panneiers which were intended for my Honda CB500x, a bike which I've decided to replace last week. My question in regards to the '17+ V-strom. Do you guys fit the panniers so they sit above the stock muffler? Do the existing aluminum cases available from the aftermarket have an easy work around for this, or does it require exhaust modification?

A little help is appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-02-2019, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
Junior Trooper

I forgot to add. I was wondering if someone could best recommend a pannier rack that is most likely to suit my needs. I realize there doesn't exist a specific Tusk rack to fit my Wee.
post #3 of 9 Old 06-02-2019, 05:42 PM
#motoref

Garage