Howdy. New DL650A owner here. - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 07-22-2012, 01:46 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Howdy. New DL650A owner here.

I went to the dealership yesterday after reading all the good things about the V-Strom, (Why isn't is V-Storm? Strange) Anyway, I have been riding big bikes for the last 20 years. Mostly Connie's, even had a Goldwing for awhile. But I really like to off road some and have a lot of places I go that are long trips down gravel roads. Here in Arkansas, we have some killer swimming holes and hiking places that are far off the pavement, so the V-Strom is perfect for that. After the test ride I knew I was buying it! After riding those big bikes so long this thing handles like a Mountain Bike!

So, I have a few questions.

First, after reading all the post here, I decided to get the Touratech Skid Plate. It seemed the easiest to install, since I don't have a center stand (yet) and have no good way to remove the stand for the installation of the Yann one, which I liked. I figured with all the gravel road, and ATV trail riding I plan to do I needed to protect that protruding oil filter.

My next problem is going to be how to rig up highway pegs. I just have to have them as I have a bad back, and change positions a lot on 200+ mile runs.

It looks like it would be easy to just clamp some pegs on the engine guards, but all the pegs I have found fit 1" to 1 1/4" tubes, and the ones on this bike are 3/4"? Anyone found pegs that fit?

I am sure I will have more questions, but those are my most important projects right now. It is a super fun bike to ride. I know I am going to love it! I already love the Panniers, and have the matching top box on order.