First REAL accident: Details + need info on parts - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 04-30-2018, 04:27 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

First REAL accident: Details + need info on parts

It happened.

I've been riding for 5 years and beat the odds until now. Until yesterday.

I was riding behind a Lexus SUV and saw a right-turn signal, slowed down slightly, veered farther to the left in my lane, preparing to pass by them, only to see them slowly start to turn left instead.

I couldn't avoid hitting them at that point. I smashed into the drivers side door head-on at 55 mph. Miraculously, the bike stayed upright and I stayed on the bike. My Strom bounced off the side of their car, crossed over the left hand lane and directly towards a large fence and various obstacles beyond. At that point every cell in my body was telling me to "put the bike down", which I did, as gracefully as I could, in that split second of pure instinct without thought.

I'll never forget the look on the faces of the people as they stepped out of their car....they thought I was dead. Not only was I not dead, but I was barely scratched and bruised! Counting my blessings for sure. First accident in 30,000 miles of driving.

The bike came out fairly well too, but definitely not unscathed. I've been babying her for the last 4000 miles, since I bought it with 500 on the odometer, and haven't put a scratch on it...So much for that!

I've got a 2014 650 Adventure, with the stock hard cases and rack. The smaller, right side case was totally crunched.

Time to re-build. To start, I'm looking to fix the major damage with the following parts:

1. Stock Suzuki hard case (smaller, right side) for the 650A.
2. Mounting rack for the above case, right side only.
3. Stock crash bar, right side only.
3. The matching set of gray fuel tank covers for both sides of the bike.