Dropping forks to move too-tight cables - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

13Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 Old 02-17-2018, 12:27 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Dropping forks to move too-tight cables

I need a bit of help. I installed the PowerMadd 45430 Risers on my 2014 DL650. I angled it back 45 degrees, and the ergonomic results appear to be about right. However, my cables are too tight. I ordered a +2" brake cable from Adventuretech, which should solve that one, but I'm concerned about throttle, clutch, and wiring. Reading what others have done, I plan to reroute those cables behind the forks. Here's where I need advice.

I've not removed forks from this bike, so I have no experience. Reading my shop manual, it seems that if I loosen the upper and lower clamps the forks should slide down. But the shop manual says I need to remove the front wheel and the fender. Is that necessary? Can I just loosen the clamps and drop them down about two inches, slide my cables and wiring behind, then bring the forks back into position and tighten it all back up?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Charlie

2012 BMW R1200RT, 2013 Honda PCX150, 2014 Suzuki DL650A
Add-ons: SW Motech Center Stand, Parabellum 24" Windshield, Adventure Tech Over the Dash GPS Mount and Mirror Extenders, Blue Sea Dual USB Port, Shad 49L Topcase, Rigid Industries Dually Spot and Flood LEDs, Whelen 700 LED Brake/Tail Light, Kisan Headlight Modulator, Terry Adcox Double Bucket Custom Seat in all leather, and the following Eastern Beaver products: PC8, H4 Dual Headlight Relay, Brake/Tail/Signal Adapter, Rear Brake Light Switch Connector Relay Switching Adapter.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 02-17-2018, 12:35 PM
Stromthusiast!

Garage