Handguards: Disadvantages of Barkbuster Storms over OEM - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 Old 02-02-2018, 08:48 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Garage
Lightbulb Handguards: Disadvantages of Barkbuster Storms over OEM

I'm just getting into riding and am looking for a pair of handguards to get me out there in the cold.

I've searched and read many threads that point to BB Storms over OEM as a better choice...but I'm wondering what disadvantages are there by choosing them over OEM, if any?

Some things of interest I can think of when shopping for handguards:

- Optimal Wind protection in cold weather.
- Ease of removal to allow air flow for hot weather.
- Possibly reuse on next bike purchase (or future generation of Vstrom!).
- Crash protection for hands and levers.
- Aesthetics

Am I missing something?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 02-02-2018, 10:21 PM
MrF
Stromthusiast!

Garage
I was down to deciding between the OEM and BB Storms as well and wound up going with the BB Storms. What did it for me was the aluminum bar in the Barkbusters for impact protection. The OEM guards are just plastic. The plastic parts of the Barkbusters (and maybe the aluminum bar too) are a common part for all bikes. I'm pretty sure the only thing you'd need to transfer them to another bike would be the small brackets on the inboard end, and the right size spacer for the bar ends.

The OEM guards looked like they'd be a little easier to pop on and off when the weather warms up, but the Barkbusters aren't that bad. Two bolts per hand guard and they're off. I've never ridden with the OEMs, so I can't speak to wind protection. The BBs are fine, but I have some issues with still getting some cold air on my fingers below about 30°F.

Good luck!
reasonable likes this.

2016 V-Strom 650
post #3 of 23 Old 02-02-2018, 10:31 PM
Stromthusiast!