Benefit of New Springs? - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 01-24-2018, 10:37 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Benefit of New Springs?

Hi, all.

I am 250 lbs right now, but am hoping to slim down in the next few months (obviously I will still be quite heavy!). I am not an aggressive rider, and won't be doing any hard off road (just non-technical trails and gravel roads). There is already a fork brace installed.

Would a spring upgrade be worth it for me? If I were to do the rear suspension, it would just be a new spring as compared to a full shock replacement. I am not interested in adding cartridges or anything like that to the front at this time. The sag has not been set yet, but I am pretty sure I won't be able to set it correctly at my weight with the stock suspension.

Thanks for your opinion. I am new to this suspension stuff!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 01-25-2018, 12:42 AM
Stromthusiast!

I installed Sonic .95 fork springs and 15 weight oil (I think that was Sonic recommendation). I had no problem setting the sag, but wanted less brake dive and something a little more sporty for the twisties. I was very happy with that, but if I had to do it over I would try a 10 wt. oil to make it a little more "plush" riding. I was happy with the stock rear after adjusting. I'm right around 200 lbs with gear, and was 100% street.

-Gary
2014 V-Strom 1000 - Desert Khaki
2016 GSX-S1000FA
2012 DR650SE
2011 Burgman 400
2007 Honda Helix
2013 V-Strom 650 - sold
post #3 of 11 Old 01-25-2018, 09:05 AM
$tromtrooper

Like Gdub said, front springs and oil will help. If you truly are not an aggressive rider you may not even notice much difference. But for your weight, both front and rear should be re-sprung to make the bike handle properly.