Mod rear suspension when lowering? - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 01-09-2015, 06:55 PM Thread Starter
Junior Trooper

Mod rear suspension when lowering?

I have lowered my 2012 650 by 3/4" front and back. Is still maybe a 'tad' too tall. My heels do not quite reach the ground. I am a novice rider and would be more comfortable with another 1/2" - at least whilst learning.

Question: if I lower the back an additional 1/2" (I don't believe the front can be lowered any more), do I need to modify / restrict the travel of my rear suspension? I saw a post from a few years back where Grey Wolf had mentioned this and posted a picture of a worn-through fender? What about when I add a passenger?

Thanks mucho!

Papa-Coco
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 01-09-2015, 07:21 PM
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT

Garage
You can lower the rear as much as 1-1/8" on a Wee with no fender danger. In fact I hadn't thought about it before but the longer shock on the Glee may allow even a but more.

Pat- 2007 DL650A was ridden to all 48 contiguous states. I didn't quite make it to 17,000 miles on the 2012 DL650A.
Nicknames I use to lessen typing, Vee = 2002-2012 DL1000s. Vee2=2014-2016 DL1000s. Wee = 2004-2011 DL650s. Glee = 2012-2016 DL650s
See https://www.stromtrooper.com/general-...nicknames.html

Please vote in the poll on what Strom(s) you have at https://www.stromtrooper.com/informat...-you-have.html
post #3 of 7 Old 01-09-2015, 07:31 PM Thread Starter
Junior Trooper

Super! Thanks for the quick reply.

post #4 of 7 Old 01-10-2015, 02:03 PM
Stromthusiast!

Or, cut down the seat. Remove the cover, carve out the foam, replace the cover.

"Older people who are reasonable, good-tempered, and gracious will bear aging well. Those who are mean-spirited and irritable will be unhappy at every period of their lives.