It's like stealing - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 05-26-2014, 10:58 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Talking It's like stealing

I've been riding since 1973, and I've owned a bike since 1975, but I've never ridden a bike that had this kind of capability at this kind of price. Bang for the buck is way out of proportion: word gets out they'll tax it or make it illegal!

I bought a used 2012 650 this past November and spent the intervening months getting it modified to suit my tastes: CS windscreen, Seat concept seat, new chain, other odds and ends. Spring finally came to Colorado over the Memorial Day weekend (sort of, saw 33F and 75F on the same day), so it was finally time to take an overnight trip. So me and my bud decided a trip to Lake City, Colorado, over the Cottonwood Pass, and back via Creede, Co and then cross country from Salida to Hartsel (45 miles over dirt roads) then home to Colorado Springs. Leave Friday morning, return Sat afternoon.
This bike does it all! It will cruise at 85 if you want (and I did), and take the odd dirt road without complaint, one example being the 15 miles dirt road down from 12,000 ft Cottonwood Pass to Crested Butte/Gunnison, a first for me, but confidence inspiring on this bike. I am obviously new to this adventure biking stuff, and my respect for the bike grew with each passing mile.

Route 149 from Gunnison down to Lake City (one of the best kept secrets in motorcycling, but not as good as the next part of the trip, the road between Lake City to Creede, CO over Slumgullion Pass) allowed me to remove the "chicken strips" on my tires....confidence building too: it handles as well as anything I've ever ridden...embarrassed my riding mate on a 2009 R1200GS in the twisties, a couple of times.