New V 650 Owner, first post - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 05-10-2014, 10:08 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
Junior Trooper

New V 650 Owner, first post

I've been riding for 30 years... all cruiser/bagger style bikes, and exclusively Harley Davidson for the last 25 years. I sold my Road King (Road Sofa, very comfy bike) in Feb. I decided I wanted a more dual sport oriented bike, mainly because of the roads here in AK.

Many gravel roads, and lots of summer construction where they tear up miles of road, and you have to ride mud/gravel. Not so much the Road Sofa's forte. Summer before last, I was riding from Fairbanks, between Delta Junction and Tok. I had been riding on road breaks (sections where the road becomes gravel for a mile or two) all day. On a curve, I hit a road break that must have been recently filled with gravel. As soon as my front tire hit the gravel, the handlebars tore out of my hands. At 65 MPH, the handlebars bounced side to side full lock, and the bike violently began to fishtail. The speed dropped rapidly to 50 mph, and I was sure I was going down. Just as the bike was completely out of control, I hit asphalt again, and was able to grab the bars and get her under control. Scared the crap out of me! Partially my fault because I was not expecting that to happen after riding on gravel all day, and I wasn't as guarded as I should have been. Sadly, a few days later a biker from the lower 48 on an electra glide was killed in the same spot, probably from the deep gravel.