Worst instructions ever...and now I'm stuck - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 05-04-2014, 08:53 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Worst instructions ever...and now I'm stuck

Hopefully someone here can help me out. This weekend I received my Givi E55 and brake light kit. Installing the case itself was a breeze. Hooking up the brake lights- meh, not so much. I'm not an electrician, nor am I particularly savvy with wires.

Problem 1: wires on my 2013 Dl650 are different than those listed online. I have black w/ white stipe. Grey. And teal. figured those out though I think.

Problem 2: the provided givi connector plug (nomenclature?) isn't quite tall enough to reach the terminals on the bottom on the case if I install the from the underside. So I installed it on top which makes no sense from an aesthetics or a wire protection standpoint (See image) but still, no go on the brake lights in the case. Has anybody on here troubleshot this? I can't be the only one but I read dozens of posts about these cases now and the best thing I saw so far was that someone solved the problem with a washer- or planned to. Any advice?

And as a warning to anyone looking at givi cases- the case is great. It seems like very high quality. But the instructions are terrible.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (98.2 KB, 107 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 05-04-2014, 09:29 PM
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT

Garage
There is a white wire with a black stripe back there. It is the brake light hot wire. That teal wire must be the light green right turn signal wire.

Pat- 2007 DL650A was ridden to all 48 contiguous states. I didn't quite make it to 17,000 miles on the 2012 DL650A.
Nicknames I use to lessen typing, Vee = 2002-2012 DL1000s. Vee2=2014-2016 DL1000s. Wee = 2004-2011 DL650s. Glee = 2012-2016 DL650s