Anti lock brakes saved me yesterday - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 Old 10-27-2013, 06:32 AM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Anti lock brakes saved me yesterday

I was riding on a two lane road in the center of a small town, going about 35mph. There was a line of traffic come toward me. One of the cars decided to take a left turn into a driveway right in front of me. I was shocked for a second (I couldn't believe he was going to do it). I leaned on the horn and slammed on both brakes. Based on past experience (and I have 44 years of riding experience), I anticipated seizing both wheels, smashing down to the left, and careening into his front bumper. Instead, I stopped like I never stopped before - perfectly upright, no skids, and no loss of control. I stopped about two feet before the side of his car, which was still executing a left turn. The bozo never noticed me. He looked pretty old; I suspect he was half blind. The moral of this story: ABS may have saved my life yesterday. How did I ever do without it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 40 Old 10-27-2013, 09:03 AM
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT

Garage
That's the beauty of it. If you hadn't practiced enough to make an emergency stop a reflex action, ABS will keep you from dropping the bike. I'd recommend forgetting about the horn in a situation like that though and put all your focus on braking. Horns are fine if you have time. In a bona fide emergency, stick to crash avoidance maneuvers rather than hoping somebody else will suddenly pay attention and do exactly the right thing in their own emergency situation.

Pat- 2007 DL650A was ridden to all 48 contiguous states. I didn't quite make it to 17,000 miles on the 2012 DL650A.
Nicknames I use to lessen typing, Vee = 2002-2012 DL1000s. Vee2=2014-2016 DL1000s. Wee = 2004-2011 DL650s. Glee = 2012-2016 DL650s