Rear axle nut stuck - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old 09-03-2013, 12:08 AM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Rear axle nut stuck

The other day I loosened the rear axle nuts and tightened the chain(so I thought). I tightened the axle nuts on both sides to 70 lbs. well I checked the chain again and it seemed loose still.

So tonite I went to loosen the rear axle nuts to tighten my chain again and they won't loosen. My son tried to help and it's like the nuts are on so tight they won't budge. I dunno what we're doing wrong.

My question is, can we still ride the bike even though we don't know how tight or how much torque it is on each side?? Will it mess something up further?

Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 09-03-2013, 12:51 AM
Stromthusiast!

I am no expert and I have a Wee not a glee (I think in terms of chain adjustment they might be somewhat similar) but I'll give you my $ 0.02.

- You mentioned that you tightened the chain... did you measure and leave the appropriate slack....for the Wee its somewhere between 2-3cm with the bike on the centerstand.

If not my theory is that the chain might have been too tight and thus the axle bolt is now not perpendicular to the swing arms causing the axle nut to pinch the washer/swing arm.

I might have read somewhere on this forum that the manual recommended 70lbs-ft might be too high. In any case, I say go to town on that nut pull it out and check to see if the threads are still okay and re-adjust the chain.
post #3 of 19 Old 09-03-2013, 01:13 AM
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT

Garage
Common enough to have a sticky thread.

https://www.stromtrooper.com/general-...ad-galled.html

Pat- 2007 DL650A was ridden to all 48 contiguous states. I didn't quite make it to 17,000 miles on the 2012 DL650A.