Crash Bars and Skid Plates and Center Stands, Oh My! - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650A - 2012-2016 DL650A 2012-2016 (L2-L6)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 07-07-2013, 05:47 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Crash Bars and Skid Plates and Center Stands, Oh My!

I've been doing a lot of research for my upcoming 2012 V-Strom that I pick up next Friday or Saturday. Reading a lot here and Googling in general. And I'm probably more confused them before I started.

I'm trying to find the right combination of crash bars, skid plate, and center stand.

I thought I had settled on the SW-Motech Crash Bars with the same center stand and the Narcosis Junky skid plate. But wait... the skid plate only works with Givi or OEM crash bars, both of which I've read are not as strong as other options, like SW-Motech or Happy Trail. The Happy Trail ones are nice except they stand out from the bike by at least 6-8" and look obnoxious.

The Givi skid plate looks to be too thin and only comes in silver. I'll powder coat the thing if I have to, but I want black.

The Touratech skid plate is a joke (IMO) because it leaves the exhaust pipe exposed. And their website has been down more than it's been up for the last week so it's hard to do any research there anyway.

So now I'm considering the SW-Motech skid plate, but I don't like that it DOESN'T attach to the crash bars, I'm a bit concerned about it attaching to the engine side cases, which to me is asking for cracked cases.

Then there's the issue of some center stands not working with some skid plates.

So it seems if I want a good skid plate, I need to run the Givi crash bars, which are (IMO) a bit inadequate. I'd like to know why specifically the Narcosis Junky plate won't work with the SW-Motechs. I bet with a little work and my welder I could make it work just fine. But I shouldn't have to.

What have you guys figured out?

Rob

'17 Triumph Tiger 800XCA
'17 Kawasaki Versys-X 300