Suzuki stored on side - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650 and DL650A - 2004 to 2011 DL650 from 2004-2006 (K4-K6) and DL650 or DL650A from 2007-2011 (K7-L1)

7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 07-31-2019, 09:14 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
Junior Trooper

Suzuki stored on side

I’ve only been riding for a couple weeks now so I’m just a beginner. Having said that I was unaware that storing a bike on its side was so potentially harmful, so I transported two hours on its side in a trailer. It is clear to me now that I have severely :|:|:|:|ed up and now the bike will start, but it will immediately die. When I was able to keep it running it started to smoke.

Long story short something needs to be done. Therefore what is it that I need to do to fix my bike? I’ve done all my bikes maintenance up to this point and I’d prefer to keep it that way, so no “take it into the shop” answers if it can be helped. Thanks guys for the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 07-31-2019, 09:31 PM
Stromthusiast!
Super Trooper!

Garage
Lying on it's side probably allowed oil to flow into the airbox, hence the smoke. Clean out the airbox, maybe a new air filter, and you should be good.
notacop, Gert and Griff2 like this.

I don't want a pickle, I just want to ride my motorsickle. A. Guthrie.
post #3 of 11 Old 07-31-2019, 09:37 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
Junior Trooper

Ok I’ll check that out and see if that solves it.

post #4 of 11 Old 07-31-2019, 09:39 PM
Stromthusiast!

I would also advise to remove the battery. Check for leaked acid on the bike. Wash that area down well to dilute any acid. If the battery didn't leak, you are fortunate. Hopefully you aren't low on acid now. Years ago (ok, decades ago), when we lost acid we'd add water and charge the battery. I doubt seriously that they advise that today. Make sure your battery cables are sufficiently tight when you reinstall it.
Gert likes this.