Advice on a new horn and lights - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650 and DL650A - 2004 to 2011 DL650 from 2004-2006 (K4-K6) and DL650 or DL650A from 2007-2011 (K7-L1)

7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 06-28-2019, 04:24 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
Junior Trooper

Advice on a new horn and lights

I want to add a new horn and lights to my new to me 09, primarily for safety. I would like a horn that would be a direct replacement for the stock horn, if such a thing exists.

As far as lights, I am thinking some cheap amazon LEDs mounted on the crashbars would suffice. I don't feel like I need a switch, which I guess means I don't need any ridiculous lumens. Running lights I guess. My question is how would I wire them so they turn on and off with the bike? I have limited experience with vehicle wiring, just a few car stereos back in the day.

I found these mounts in another thread here I believe. Possible mounts:

*Can't post links because of my newness. It was a cheap $11.99 mount*

TIA for any suggestions on horns or lights! I am on a budget, the wife is already grumpy about the bike, helmet, jacket, boots. . .

2009 DL650
2011 TTR-230
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 06-28-2019, 05:26 PM
Stromthusiast!

There are MANY thread about horns and lights.

Horn Info: https://www.google.com/search?source...99.OciQGtlXpdo

Lights: I would run it of the battery or better a switched source that come on when the ignition is on and include an on/ off switch. There will be situations where you want to be able to turn them off.
CCTigers likes this.

<<<<<<<<<< Join us for NEVA19: https://www.stromtrooper.com/events/420909-n-e-v-2019-a.html >>>>>>>>>>>

Blau1 2004 DL650-sold
Blau2 2014 DL1000A
post #3 of 14 Old 06-28-2019, 06:11 PM
Stromthusiast!

Garage