Preload adjustment without center stand? - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL650 and DL650A - 2004 to 2011 DL650 from 2004-2006 (K4-K6) and DL650 or DL650A from 2007-2011 (K7-L1)

1Likes
  • 1 Post By CPR

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 04-29-2018, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
CPR
Stromthusiast!
Junior Trooper

Garage
Preload adjustment without center stand?

Greetings. I'm a newb to motorcycles (used to trail ride) and the V-strom. I am planning a moto/camping trip in a month or so, and am thinking about how to set-up my suspension for the load. Also, I'd like to know how to make rough adjustments for taking the odd passenger here and there.

I have looked at The Science and Black Magic of Suspension setup, and a good basic video by bearded_vstrom_reviews on youtube (I don't have permission to post links yet, sorry).

Unfortunately, I don't have a center stand, so I'm not sure how I'd go about adjusting the preload as the video and post suggest. Also, an odd observation I made just playing around with the rear pre-load knob - The bike was set to basically zero when I bought it (used), and I can get only 4.5 of the 5 'rings/threads' to show when I crank it all the way up. Is that blatantly weird?

I'd appreciate any thoughts or advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-01-2018, 03:19 PM
Stromthusiast!

Garage
Hey man, I don't have an answer for you, but I am pretty much in the same boat as you so I would love it if you could find one. I want to make sure I've got the preload set correctly for when my wife I an hit up some motocamping in a short while.

-Forithan

'03 Shadow VLX
'09 VStrom DL650A
post #3 of 6 Old 05-01-2018, 03:59 PM
Stromthusiast!

If you exercise the knob operation up and down, you may get all 5 to show. Stuff gets stuck when it isn't used for long periods of time.
You could try bouncing the bike on the suspension to get the shock to cooperate. Sit on the bike and get lardassed with it.