TOOL KIT - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL1000A - 2014-2016 DL1000A - 2014-2016 (L4-L6)

29Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 Old 07-25-2018, 10:54 AM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

TOOL KIT

Trying to assemble a better tool kit for my 2014. I know this is a loaded question but what does everyone carry? The Stock kit is nearly useless IMHO.

I have 8,10,12,14,17,19 sockets and end wrenches, 3/8 T-handle, 4inch extension, JIC#2 screwdriver as well as a 8-in-1, Needle nose, 8" Cobra grip, and 6" needle nose vice grips, 8" adj, small cheater bar and flashlight.

What am I missing? I'm not a round the world rider and I'm a crappy bike mechanic so I'm not gonna be rebuilding the engine in a hotel parking lot, I'd just like to cover the basic maintenance/repair needs.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 Old 07-25-2018, 11:25 AM
Stromthusiast!

Set of allen Keys
tubeless tyre puncture repair kit.
tyre inflation equipment - CO2 bottles or 12v pump
duct tape
Pepe lopez likes this.

Last edited by suzukik9rider; 07-25-2018 at 11:29 AM.
post #3 of 37 Old 07-25-2018, 11:34 AM
Stromthusiast!

Some further suggestions https://www.stromtrooper.com/general...-advanced.html or via the search, look for toolkit

Last edited by Gert; 07-25-2018 at 11:36 AM.

post #4 of 37 Old 07-25-2018, 12:03 PM
Super Moderator

Richlandrick talked about a shorty rear axle nut wrench, would be good to have along if you have to remove a rear wheel. For the flashlight I use a headband type, adjustable beam for angle and intensity, and 2 of mine have read or white emergency flashing as well. 2 weeks ago Northern Tool was selling them for $2.49 each! I used the 1st type with the adjustments at work, so now it's in my tankbag. Keeps the hands free while working in the dark.
NVDucati and dwayneh like this.
post #5 of 37 Old 07-25-2018, 12:16 PM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gert View Post