New Vstrom rider, Suspension question - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
DL1000A - 2014-2016 DL1000A - 2014-2016 (L4-L6)

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 06-03-2017, 12:37 AM Thread Starter
Stromthusiast!
Junior Trooper

New Vstrom rider, Suspension question

Hello all,

I have been riding motorcycles for 5 years now, started with 1994 Honda XR650L, then added 1978 Suzuki GS1000, and this year sold both and bought myself a new leftover 2016 Vstrom 1000.
So now I'm back to 1 bike, and hope that this bike will serve me for years to come. Pretty happy with the Vstrom so far, only rode about 450km, feels nice and comfortable with plenty of power for me.
I bought Canadian SE model which came with centre stand, side cases and handguards. Since then I added OEM engine guards, under cowling, fuel tank clear stickers for protection and a tall seat for more legroom.

Now onto the question. I am trying to adjust suspension to my weight, specifically preload, compression and rebound but not sure how to achieve desired results. What would be good settings for someone who weighs 235lbs riding gear included?

Thanks,
Mik.

P.S. attaching couple of pics, hope it works.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20170429_175013.jpg (97.7 KB, 75 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20170429_175024.jpg (97.0 KB, 60 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 06-03-2017, 01:20 AM
Stromthusiast!

Preload sets the sag, the spring mount points, so the suspension is equally unlikely to top out or bottom out when you hit a big bump. It does NOT make the suspension stiffer or softer.

Compression damping adjustment sets how fast the (front) suspension compresses.

Rebound damping adjustment sets how fast the suspension extends.