StromTrooper banner

Decisions, decisions

3K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  Joe S. 
#1 ·
I've been riding for many years and have started on scooters to Triumph Bonneville in 1968 and increasing larger bikes over the years including many Suzuki "superbikes". I presently own a small 50cc scooter a Piaggio200cc scoot a 650KLR and a Goldwing. It just turns out that I am riding my KLR more than any other ride and it may be my most fun bike I have ever ridden. However I am looking to downsize from my touring Goldwing as my wife no longer rides with me and the newer 650 v strom is really enticing me bad.:thumbup: Is this smaller 650 adventure a good touring bike to ride over 500 mile days? Speeds will probably never exceed 80mph except passing. How far can you go before refueling at 50-70mph average?

Take care, Mike

#2 ·
I have a 2011 not a '12 so not everything may be applicable.

If its set up right its comfortable for a 500 mile day, at least as comfortable as any bike of such design is going to be.
In my case, set up means Rick Mayer seat (stock is awful imo), Rox bar risers, madstad windshield brackets and screen. I also use foam grip covers because I like a fuller grip and a slip on throttle rocker for long highway stretches. You won't mistake it for a Goldwing in wind managment or seat comfort but for what it is, its good.
I also just had the suspension upgraded on mine, haven't had time to really test it but it has to be a good thing as the stock stuff is so wimpy.
Mine has been getting around 55 mpg on extended highway cruising at a steady 65, one one spirited stretch with a lot of 75 and 80 my friend (who has an '05) and I dropped it down to just a bit over 40.