StromTrooper banner

hot weather starting

3K views 20 replies 12 participants last post by  DougInKY 
#1 ·
It's 95 deg. here in so. wisc. today. And my 07 dl1000 coughed and gagged trying to start this afternoon after leaving work. I've noticed that when the bike sits out in the heat for ext. periods of time. Cracking the thottle once will help it start. But today I had to hold the throttle open for it to start and to keep it running. Then the smell of raw fuel. I'm using 87 octane. Any ideas?

#3 ·
Manual calls for 91+ octane... might be worth testing.

The raw fuel smell after cracking throttle during starting attempt is probably because it's fuel injected... thought you weren't supposed to offer any throttle to fuel injected engines on firing? I'm not a mechanic... :)
Manual does not call for "91+"...............might try opening the fuel door "before starting" when sitting in the sun/heat for extended periods, and cracking throttle before starting won't hurt anything.

#4 ·
FI engines have a starting circuit designed to start with the throttle closed. However, if heat causes excess fuel evaporation, the over rich result can easily be overcome by opening the throttle until it fires. I've had to do that twice in the past couple of years until the trip to the Rapid City rally. I couldn't keep count of the times on that trip without taking off my boots.

#11 ·
Wow, how interesting. Is this a 650-thing? In over 90,000 miles (and more than I care to remember in 105+ degrees) my DL1k has never, ever had a problem starting - regardless of the temperature. FWIW, I use Chevron gas if at all possible and always lowest grade.

AGirl

#6 · (Edited)
91 by the RON(research) method used in many countries is the equivalent of 87 by the (R+M)/2 method used in North America.

The quote from the service manual is:
Use only unleaded gasoline of at least 87 pump octane (R+M)2 or 91 octane or higher rated by the research method.

#10 ·