StromTrooper banner

New To Motorcycles...Pre 2012 V-Strom VS Post

7K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  rut3556 
#1 ·
Hello All-

I am brand new to the world of motorcycles...just got my license last week (basic riders course) and I am enjoying shopping for my first bike!

I am really interested in an adventure/dual sport bike. Bikes on my radar have been the Honda NC700X, Kawi Versys, BMW F/G650GS, and, of course, the V-Strom.

A local used dealer has a clean 2011 Suzuki V-Strom 650 ABS for sale for $5,699. 10,000 miles and comes with 3 hard bags. I am really thinking of this bike as a strong possibility but I am wondering if I should really hold out for a 2012 or newer bike.

The 2012 version seems to have a lot of nice updates...only issue is that I am really in the market for a used bike (cost) and there are not a ton of used 2012 or newer bikes out there in my area.

Wanted to get everyone's opinion of my predicament. Are the improvements for the 2012 worth waiting for? Or would the 2011 fit a new bikers needs without regret?

#2 ·
Great question Jmangt,
I had a 2011 650 for three years before trading it in for a '14 Vee2. My '11 650 was flawless, and worked perfectly. NO issues at all. That said, I am sure others will chime in who have had 650's 2011 and prior, and upgraded to 2012 650's. I would think you could get a better deal, especially now, for a well kept 2011 650 with a good number of upgrades. Good luck and safe riding. You picked a great bike to consider purchasing. :thumbup:

#3 ·
Thanks for the quick response!

As I think/research about it on the posts here (awesome site by the way), I get the feeling that the old style v-strom is still a strong bike...the second generation just made it all the better (hadn't gone through an update in several years as well).