StromTrooper banner

Using tubes inside tubeless rims

3K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  PeteW 
#1 ·
I am new to Wee2 ownership. It is my first road bike in 40 years and my first with tubeless rims.

I have extensive dirt riding experience and use a modified DRZ400 for rougher trips.

I am setting up my bike for dirt road cruising. I plan to fit MitasE07 tyres.

My concern is what happens if I hit a rim and loose air pressure in a remote area.

I am assuming that others have worked this problem out. Do you fit tubes and if so which ones? Or do you carry tubes as emergency supplies?

#2 ·
safety first

I don't like tubes, the whole point of tubeless is safety, they are basically self sealing when punctured so only going down slowly giving you time to react. Tubes tear and go flat very quickly. try sticking a pin in a balloon, then try the same with a polypropylene ziplock bag and you will get the idea. You'd have to hit something bloody hard to ding the rim and in doing so you are possibly on the wrong bike, the Strom is not really a trail bike. Given the speeds it is capable of tubeless really is a safety feature worth having. I ride mine on some pretty rough dirt roads and in five years have not dented the rims.

#3 · (Edited)
+ 1 What he said! Tubes will also add additional heat when on the blacktop at speed, which is said to add to wear rate, so I read on an adventure site.
There are some reports that the Wee's alloys are not strong but this I don't believe. Rim damage risk will increase when tyre pressures are dropped so take that into consideration. Weighing in at 189 kgs dry, plus fuel and luggage it's a dirt road bike, but not an enduro. It has good blacktop abilities when travelling long distances to get to the dirt road areas you want to explore.
Outback cattle grids seem to account for a lot of damaged rims, spoke or alloy. If you stay with dirt roads and not get into the really rough stuff, then the Wee is an excellent choice.

#4 ·