Why am I being spammed on Stromtrooper? - Page 2 - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums  

Go Back   Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums > Popular Forums > Off Topic and Member Therapy


Off Topic and Member Therapy Rant or Chat away about your favorite things! Share camping tips, favorite recipies, whatever.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-30-2012, 03:15 AM
ockerstrom's Avatar
Stromthusiast!
Super Trooper!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Windsor NSW Australia
Posts: 2,682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by craneguy View Post
Damn, reading is hard!

There must be something fishy going on. I have yet to come across any Android malware, but I hear it's out there.

Adblock Plus was released this week for Android. You might give that a try.

Have a look at the running apps list and see if there's anything you don't recognize. Also ask the question at the XDA developers site.

Let us know will you? I run an app checker on my phone since I mess with custom roms. It's called "Lookout" That might help.

Good luck!
Thanks craneguy,

I will go have a look at what you suggested.

I've not heard of any issues with Androids being hit by viruses or malware....but it wouldn't surprise me if there was stuff out there these days.
__________________
Ock. in Oz
Australia, NSW, Windsor
ockerstrom@rocketmail.com

Member of The McGrath's Hill Mob.

Shiro Nakama Ju San

White '09 V-Strom DL650ABS, Blue '87 Kawasaki KLR650 [Sold]
Green '94 Kawasaki KLE500

"Normal" is only a cycle on the washing machine.....

If you wait, all that happens is that you get older.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #12  
Old 11-30-2012, 06:03 AM
teevee's Avatar
Just a Guy
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 550
Default

well, this IS a commercial website owned by a FOR PROFIT company. wouldn't surprise me if the pop-ups were coming from the owners of the site--a canadian company that owns tons of moto related sites and others...
__________________
______________
'08 DR650
'07 DL1000
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2012, 06:49 AM
Kurgan's Avatar
Stromthusiast!
Super Trooper!
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Western NC
Posts: 296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teevee View Post
well, this IS a commercial website owned by a FOR PROFIT company. wouldn't surprise me if the pop-ups were coming from the owners of the site--a canadian company that owns tons of moto related sites and others...
Verticalscope, they absolutely suck. If it weren't for the content, I'd never come here just because I abhor them so much and what they do to otherwise good sites.
__________________
Jim
2006 Gray Vstrom 1000
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:35 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.5.2