StromTrooper banner

Need help with Eastern Beaver H4 installation

15K views 37 replies 14 participants last post by  M3B 
#1 ·
I'm installing an H4 relay and a PC 8 this weekend. I'm a novice at electrics, and before I do it wrong, I wanted to get some advice. I've looked at Eastern Beaver's website, and the various threads on here, and I'm still not sure about the hookup of the H4 relay. I've attached some photos; maybe someone could just tell me based on the numbers in the photos what number hooks up to what number? And am I correct that, of the two female H4 couplers in the H4 kit, only one is used and the other is taped up and secured out of the way?

The second photo is the left side of my 650, showing the H4 socket already removed.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
#3 is connected to either #4 or the other headlight connector. Only one is needed to throw the relays. #1 and #2 are plugged into the headlights. Tape over the #3 and #4 connection as well as the unused connector.

#4 · (Edited)
One final question. The H4 relay and the PC8 are installed. The relay kit I bought is designed for wiring to the PC8, and not directly to the battery. I read in the PC8 instructions that the maximum current draw for each circuit is 15 amps; however, the H4 relay kit has a 20 amp fuses included for installation in the PC8.

I know Jim knows his business, so this is more for my education than a critique of the product. Can anyone enlighten me about this?

#18 ·
If you fused it for the max *expected* current you might be popping fuses for very little reason as some things draw a hefty surge current. For example incandescent bulbs have a very large rush current when initially started because they are cold. Once warm they stabilize at their "normal" power draw. Fuses are rated for the max plus a safety margin to allow for these possible minor surges.

#7 ·