StromTrooper banner

Hard luggage question

3K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  Dino M 
#1 ·
hey gang. i recently purchased an 05 dl650. im planning on motocamping and doing some easy off road riding.

i had soft bags on my previous bike, cortech super 2.0 soft bags. they worked well on that bike but i'm now looking for something....harder...!

im interested in getting aluminum side cases. i work at cycle gear so i can get a pretty good discount on parts. this is an entirely new world i have no experience with, so i was wondering if any of you could post your experience with hard cases. i'm also looking for cases that open from the top. my cortech bags opened from the top and i couldn't see myself without the ability to load gear while the bags are on the bike.

any thoughts?

#2 · (Edited)
You could check out the Tusk aluminum panniers at Rocky Mountain ATV. You'll find them listed with racks for the KLR. They do not have racks for the V-Strom, but you can still buy the panniers and purchase someone else's racks. They are inexpensive compared to others. Next up the line are Happy Trails. They make everything for the Strom.

https://www.rockymountainatvmc.com/p/1033/40024/Tusk-Aluminum-Panniers

#6 ·
Is hard luggage always bolted to the rack? Is this the case with soft bags as well? I recently bought a well farkled wee and it's cases were bolted on; and as a new rider, I had never thought of this before. I also come from a bicycle touring background and most panniers are soft and removable. Thanks for answering this basic question!

#9 · (Edited)
Denali Panniers