Stock Suspension question - Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums
Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums  

Go Back   Stromtrooper Forum : Suzuki V-Strom Motorcycle Forums > Popular Forums > DL650 - 2012+

DL650 - 2012+ DL 650 2012 +

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2012, 03:07 AM
Stromthusiast!
Junior Trooper

Smile Stock Suspension question

I have a 2012 wee and I am new to bikes with long suspension travel like the wee (my other bike is a zx6)

My question is the instantenous dip of 2 inches as soon as you touch the front brake. I realize the strom is a budget bike and all that but are front forks on adventure touring bikes meant to be like this? does it aid the bike to perform well off road? or is it that the Strom comes with a really shit set of forks?

Have people upgraded front forks? What do they recommend?
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-17-2012, 05:42 AM
Stromthusiast!
Super Trooper!

It is working the way it is suppossed to... Think about it... do you want stiff jarring sport bike suspension like you had in your old sport bike or would you like supple long travel suspension for comfort over rough road/off road surfaces?

[SIZE="4"][COLOR="Blue"]Never argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Old 12-17-2012, 06:48 AM
Stromthusiast!

When you say "instantaneous" it make we wonder if your forks are aligned correctly; maybe you have excess friction or maybe you have no front oil. The front end does dive during braking on my Vee, but the feel is normal compared to other bikes I have or have ridden.
Old 12-17-2012, 10:10 AM
Stromthusiast!

Yes, budget suspension. Better suspension comes with bikes like the Ducati Multistrada ($17k & up), BMW R 1200GS ($16K & up), etc.